News & Events

A Performance and Courageous Conversation

Tuesday, April 3rd, 2018 at 7:00pm
Sundin Music Hall, Hamline University
In conjunction with Social Justice Week
Free and open to the public

Janet Horvath, cello
Heather MacLaughlin, piano

Kol Nidre Op. 47, written by Max Bruch, for Cello and Piano

It’s Not Too Late to Stop the Hate: produced and written by Ms. Horvath

Original Multi-media theater piece includes narration, 180 projected photos, and cello interludes performed by Ms. Horvath. Discussion to follow.

Irving M. Klein International String Competition

June 1, 2018
Playing (Less) Hurt - Injury Prevention Seminar
It Shouldn't Have to Hurt to Play
California Music Center
San Francisco Conservatory of Music

June 2–3, 2018
33rd Annual Irving M. Klein International String Competition
California Music Center
San Francisco Conservatory of Music

Ms. Horvath will serve on the Jury to select the winners from some of the world’s finest young string players.
Its award carries the distinction that has helped many top soloists gain prominence in the competitive world of classical music.

It’s Not Too Late to Stop the Hate

March 27th, 2018 6:30 pm
Presented by the Religious Studies Department, University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire, Wisconsin, for the class Holocaust. 

International Jewish-German Week May 2018

Wolf Durmashkin Composition Award and Leonard-Bernstein-Jubilee-Concert

May 9 and 10, 2018

Featuring Janet Horvath, cello soloist, in Max Bruch’s Kol Nidre with a Bavarian Orchestra.

The Jubilee Concerts will celebrate the 100th anniversary of Leonard Bernstein’s birth, and commemorate concerts held at the displaced persons camp in Landsberg, Germany, 70 years ago. 

Seventeen musicians, including cellist, George Horvath, Janet’s father, all Holocaust survivors, formed the St Ottilien Orchestra after the war. The two performances held in Landsberg in May 1948, were conducted by Leonard Bernstein. Janet's performances in Germany, where her father played 70 years ago, where thousands of stateless persons languished after the horrors of the war, will have special significance. The Wolf Durmashkin Composition Award for composers under the age of 35 will be presented during the commemoration. (Entry deadline January 10, 2018.)

See official flyer (in German)

More information: 

May 10, 1948 concert
May 10, 2018 concert 


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This